Be my friend, Isabel

I developed a new designer-crush just before Christmas. Isabel Marant. I love her clothes and her styling and her ads and her clothes!!! And altho I prefered her debut A/W09 collection, I am carrying this crush through to summer.

(via: isabelmarant.tm.fr)

Her SS10 collection reminds me of cowboys & indians , think ethnic styles with a cowboy attitude. and while a lot of the tribal detailing and massive beads wouldn’t be my cup of tea, the beauty of Isabel’s work is that her collection is really obviously made pu of covetable pieces. Jackets to die for, devine little dresses, super easy to wear tops. It wasn’t a perfect collection – I’m defo not sold on some of the stripey fabrics she used – but it was an incredibly wearable one, full of well thought out garments.

(via: style.com)

I think part of the reason why i like Isabel Marant is that her clothes are just that – clothes. While i covet certain garments from other designers, i often do so as objects of art. if they were in my wardrobe i’d find it hard to actually wear them. Not so with Marant, who has perhaps favoured style and wearability over exaggerated concept or out there design. Stepping out in her clothes could be an every day occurance (ah if only i had the money!) without looking like you got lost on your way from a costume change at a shoot.

via: style.com

See the whole collection on her website and judge for yourself.  In my opinion though, her jackets are the perfect thing for a date, a gig, lunch with the girls, going to work and just about everything else you can think of.

One thought on “Be my friend, Isabel

Leave a Reply

