That Guy’s colourful

Full Disclosure: I am doing a series on favourite photographers. I kinda forgot to mention that when I started, but I am, and here’s another one.

I was going to tell you a long story about how I’m obsessed with colour and how to get certain colours in photography through film and shutter speed and lighting and blah blah blah, but it’s not that interesting. What IS interesting is when people get it right. Guy Bourdin gets it right all the time. He’s good like that. No, he’s unreal. Guy’s work is pretty iconic. He was born in 1928 and his work was first published in Vogue in 1955. Not that you would really be able to tell by looking at his photographs. His work remains fresh and relevant today. And SEXY. Very Very Very sexy. But for me, apart from the sex and the composition and the other amazing elements to his work (and it’s all pretty much perfect), my favourite part is the colour.

Leave a Reply

