Balmania?

The king is dead, long live the king.

I did a little cry back at the start of the year when I heard that Christophe Decarnin was gone from Balmain. Such a perfect combination couldn’t possibly be replicated, no? Who could POSSIBLY fill those shoes? Even though I couldn’t afford a button on one of his jackets I was GUTTED.

And then a really funny thing happened. About a week ago I realised I was over the distressed rock-n-roll look that Christophe’s Balmain so immaculately embodied. I’m not exactly sure when it happened, but as with all tastes, things change imperceptibly and slowly, so that one day you wake up and realise that your all-time-favourite-ever is now in fact not really your favourite anymore.

I was therefore absolutely delighted to see Olivier Roustein’s Resort collection for Balmain, his first for the brand. It was faithful to all the things I love about Balmain/Decarnin – heavy hardware, kick ass attitude, razor sharp tailoring, but was less dirty rock star and more….dare I say it, Beyonce? It’s glamour with an edge, and a wildness.  Which is clearly my favourite kind of glamour. There is also a tinge of Africana running thoughout which is totally what I’m digging on too at the moment. It feels right for now, a fresh update to the Balmain moniker, which was in danger of becoming a bit of a (still totally awesome) one trick pony.

If this is just the beginning for Mr Roustein, I cannot wait to see what he has in store for us next. Oh, and did I mention – the shoes? Swoon!

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

Balmain Resort 2012

all images via style.com

3 Comments to “Balmania?”

  1. very inspirational collection!:D x

  2. well I do declare…..*begins lusting*

  3. Yum yum yum I want ERRRRRthing!! x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

