It’s pronounced VersACE

I love Versace. Wait, what?

I am not a Versace Woman, nor would I stop to look at a Versace Woman in the street. But I love the sheer FASHUN of the runway shows and the editorials they put out. The craftsmanship is undeniable, the attention to detail immaculate.

Versace AW11

And who are we kidding, much of what young blogging types and grungy trendy heads are wearing today is, in a trickle down-bubble up inspired way, thanks to Versace. It was the leather and luxe look that Gianni was so amazing at in the early ’90’s. And make no mistake, there are oodles of Versace Women who spend the kind of cash that makes you blush. On Versace, to be clear.

Versace AW11

I have been thinking a lot about the H&M Collection recently. I saw the first preview in Stylist magazine, and I checked it out online a bit too. But as much as I fawn over the main lines, I think I am not that bothered about the H&M collection. For one big reason. Versace is, like, REALLY tacky. That’s why it’s awesome. Even a simple black coat will always have massive hardware or some detail designed to make the world know that the wearer is really really really ridiculously wealthy.

Versace AW11

It’s like the kind of tacky all other tacky aspires to be. The kind of tacky that only works when it is made of the finest of everything, when the studs are expensive and heavy and firmly secured. The kind of tacky that cannot ever be reproduced on the highstreet. Even with Donatella at the helm (and trust me, I have a massive amount of faith in her – she looks like a tiny bullet of awesome).

Versace for H&M 2011

image via fabsugar.com.au

So, what you get is more like a parody of Versace. Don’t get me wrong, I am technically all for diffusion lines and bringing design to the masses. Just not Versace. Keep tacky rich. Although that said, I do quite like this skirt…

Versace for H&M 2011

 image via fabsugar.com.au

I’ll almost definitely regret not getting my hands on that skirt. But I can live with myself, I think. After all, I’m not a Versace Woman, even when it’s on the high street. *Bonus ss12 images below…I love how all the Versace models are basically Donatella fembots! Babes!*

Versace SS12
Versace SS12

 

Leave a Reply

