Not if you were the last Cardi on Earth

For months now I have been searching in vain for the holy grail of cardigan – roomy enough to go over my many baggy tees & androgynous shirts, slim enough to fit nicely under jackets, short enough to not mess up the lines of a high waisted thing  and warm enough to wear on cold evenings. No big deal…….eh…Obviously, as with everything you go looking for, the thing doesn’t exist; and trust me when I say I have looked everywhere. The world seems to be conspiring against me to ensure that I always look like a slovenly uncoordinated mess. Or, rather that I have successfully built a wardrobe with massive gaps and nothing goes with anything else. I am sure I’m not alone in my inefficient shopping habits – the magpie effect, if you will. See something shiny? Ooh, have it. Goes with that you already have? No matter, matching is so out…..until one day you look in the mirror and realise that you look like a craxy, messy, eccentric, eh, mess.

While  being so intent on wearing everything I like all at once I sometimes forget the messages I send out to the rest of the world (this is a post for another day). Normally, this wouldn’t bother me, but I have recently started thinking about workwear and how to present myself in a way that no longer screams “student”, “poverty”, “crazy lady”, which, while it was never what I intended was often how I appeared.

Which sadly means I need to leave behind teh magpie trick and start buying things for specific purposes, if not strictly matching what I already have [getting the perfect cardigan/pants for work/dress for casual going out/etc]. Retraining shopping habits is easier said than done though. I have consciously tried to wean myself off Penneys/Primark for the last two years and still fail. It’s the same with charity shopping, it’s easy to be lured in by something fun, but if it’s not going to fit in with your existing wardrobe – which crucially is your existing personality – then leave it in the store. And the next time you see the perfect cardigan, buy it.

Not if you were the last cardi on earth

3 1 Phillip Lim knit top, $475
Alexander McQueen silk top, $1,195
Marni long sleeve top, $313
Bruuns Bazaar peach cardigan, 799 DKK
DAY Birger et Mikkelsen button up cardigan, £115
Dorothy Perkins navy blue top, $39
Alexander McQueen paisley top, £465
Comptoir Des Cotonniers slimming top, €110
Marni long sleeve top, $463
Knit top, €74
Marni long sleeve top, $338
Rag bone knit top, $350
Precis Petite shrug cardigan, £49

One thought on “Not if you were the last Cardi on Earth

  1. What a motley crew! I also searched for the perfect cardigan a few years ago. It took me a long time to realise that those cardies that meet in the middle and then flow down, although flattering at neck level, just let your tummy poke out further down. Yuk. I’ve chucked them all out! Those twin set type ones look good, but they’re not too warm. Good luck in your quest!

Leave a Reply

