Navajo mood

Did I mention that I love my job? I love my job. That’s one of the most annoying things that people can say, ever. Sorry. To make up for my job smugness, here is some inspiration I have been working from recently. You’ll see why I am a smug cow.

I am having a cowboy moment, so what better to compliment it than a Navajo brief? Love the embroidery and hand stitching and beading on the garments, as well as the vibrant colours mixed with siennas and earthy browns. Festival wear sorted. Well, it would be if I wasn’t such a boring old fart not going to any festivals this year. Sob.

I think I’m going to get a feathered headdress and wear it around my house instead. Not weird at all, right?!

navajo feather headdress native american

navajo feather headdress native american beading

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

navajo feather headdress native american beading embroidery

link, link, link, link, link, link, link, link, link, link, link 

5 thoughts on “Navajo mood

    1. if you read the words of this post you will realise the difference between flagrant disregard of another person’s culture and the right of everyone to appreciate a beautiful aesthetic, regardless of cultural signifiers. but whatever, each to their own opinion.

  1. oh yay another ignorant white hipster appropriating a minority culture for the sake of “fashion.”

    1. Appreciating an aesthetic is not ignorant, calling someone an ignorant white hipster is. I am allowed to think that something looks good, even if I do not share the belief structure. What is truly ignorant is to slam me without reading the actual sentiment behind the post, which was that of celebration of craftsmanship rather than a desire to disrespect anyone.

  2. Why do you have images of indigenous peoples on your post NCAD Fashion webpage? Those images are subject to copyright legislation. They are not Navajos. The number one enemy for native people is artists and designers who constantly misappropriate and destroy the meaning and context of their cultures. Please do not tell me you love indian culture. Natives are against people trending on their sacred regalia and traditions. The ‘artist’ and ‘designer’ is still to this day the worst abuser of cultural values. ‘Vulture culture’ is the term native people use to term these types of thieves. One thing I will say is this. Native peoples have always had the richest, most vibrant and expressive cultures the world over, even before the arrival of white supremacy and destruction. I am almost certain your lecturers in NCAD stated those images above are primitive. That term is completely false: a facet of the colonizers imagination. No student in an art/design college could bead the way a native does. The meaning, concepts, depth and history embedded in the dancers on your web page is so broad and complex it still defys logic and Western thought. The first image is an Arapaho leader. I am a former student of that institution (NCAD) and am disgusted by such disrespect and disregard for these cultures. As I stated in ‘The Corruption of Native American Material Culture: A religious and visual exploitation by New Age society’ 2006 “The art world needs an education beyond the simple things it holds onto as valid”. I am still correct to this day and most of what I wrote in that thesis is still correct. Furthermore, I have been studying these cultures since the age of 5 without rest and I know exactly what I am talking about. I do not mean to offend you with this extract but feel it is necessary to speak out. There is no such thing as a feathered headdress. Each eagle feather on a warbonnet represents something remarkable the wearer did for his people and is representative of extraordinary sacrifice. Warbonnets are worn by dignitaries or heads of nations and are extremely sacred. ‘Craftsmanship’ is another misappropriated term alien to native cultures. In the United States and Canada corporations and the fashion industry push stereotypes to allure the masses and profit from exploiting cultures like this. Contemporary art and design has very cleverly built itself up on utilizing cultural characteristics classified in the colonial era as lesser, primitive and inferior. The reality back then and now is different. That was all lies. During the holocaust in the Western Hemisphere more than half of the material culture of these cultures was destroyed. The traditions have survived and flourished. One last thing I will say is this. Research is very important for a potential designer, even more so than creativity. The more people learn the greater value they bring to themselves and society as a whole.

Leave a Reply

