Summer Time Blues…

A really sick part of me was a bit glad the other day when the beautiful weather we have been having came to a cold and rainy end. Only a really small, very sick part. But still, I did it. And I feel like a hypocrite and a traitor, given the amount of complaining we do about the shit weather. But, in my defence, I am useless at dressing for summer time.

I’v never been a girly girl. Floaty floral summer dresses feel alien to me.  And as everyone knows, if you are not comfortable wearing something, it will look ridiculous on you.  I don’t really know what it is. I like looking at prints, and I think they are a great way to add texture to an outfit, as well as adding drama without too much extra volume, as would be the case with a structural feature such as high shoulders or masses of frills or that……..ok sorry, too far…

What I mean is that I like prints, I just don’t wear them. Then when summer rolls around I’m unused to how they feel and i get uncomfortable and don’t bother. I guess I’v just never thought about a manageable way to work them into my (very fashun,lol) uniform of BLACK. So maybe I’l buck the trend and start wearing more print now for winter, so that by next summer* I won’t look or feel like a goth in mourning when everyone else is bloom.

Luckily, there is an abundance of great prints around at the moment to ease me into it. Well, I say that but I’m way too broke to buy the expensive version, and let’s be honest, the high street knock offs are either not as nice or so ubiquitous that you just can’t wear them. NOTE: The attention-grabbing nature of prints means that wearing the same print as ur mate is basically the same as turning up in the same wedding dress.  Morto. Even worse if your mate is better looking. Ultimate stinger.

But I digress…Here are some lovely summery prints.

Peter Pilotto SS10 (Soft textural prints are just as nice as loud florals, and good for the not-so-daring! Separates are also less full on that all over printed dresses.)
Thaokoon Resort ’10 (This is a great shape top, it would work in a block colour. Try out new colours & prints in familiar, comfortable shapes)
Roskanda Ilincic Resort ’11
Preen AW10
Matthew Williamson SS10 (A print master. A mental, genius print master. This one is defo for the brave!)
Prada SS10 (LOVE!)
Rochas SS10 (try layering chiffon over print if you are a bit shy!)
Proenza Schouler Resort ’11 (More muted than their SS10 offering but no less delicious)

(all images via Style.com)

That’s probably enough for now. I’ll leave you with this one…

*by next summer I mean those 2 weeks of sunshine we get during the Leaving Cert.


Leave a comment